Midway School District has four challengers already

There has been some early action in filing for local school board and district board elections.
Three of the seven Westside area school districts have candidates.
For Maricopa Unified, incumbent Alberta Stubblefield and challenger Christine Higgins have filed election papers.  In addition to Stubblefield, the terms of Ted Destrampe and Linda Owens are up this year.
Four challengers have filed for election to the Midway School District board.  They are Rachel Dayton, Stephen Fitzsimmons, Joel Martin and Tina Simmons.  
The incumbents are Gary Morris and Dean Rowden.
Incumbents Larry Buttke and Carolyn Hosking have filed for re-election to the Taft College board.  The other incumbent is Dawn Cole, was appointed to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of John Miller.
So far, no one has filed for the Taft High, Taft City, Elk Hills or McKittrick school district boards.
Seats up for grabs are those held by Stan Barrett, Jeremy Gregory and Rick Trisselman at Taft High, Les Clark Jr. and Mike McCormick at Taft City, Debra Howard and Curt Stephens at Elk Hills, and David Cooper and Carl Twisselman at McKittrick.
Incumbent Tom LeClair has filed to retain his seat on the West Kern Water District board.  The only other seat up for election this year is that of board president Stephen Steinhoffer.
Barbara LeBrut, one of three incumbents on the West Side Health District board, has filed her re-election papers.  The others are board president Chuck Hagstrom and Eric Cooper.
Nomination papers can be taken out at the Kern County Elections Dept. office located at 1115 Truxtun Ave. in Bakersfield.  The office, located on the first floor, is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m.-5 p.m.  The phone numbers are 868-3590 or 1-800-452-8683.
The filing deadline is Aug. 6.