Osher Foundation will endow eight scholarships annually

The Taft College Foundation hosted a luncheon to celebrate and demonstrate appreciation to the corporations and individuals who have made the Bernard Osher Scholarship program a reality at Taft College.
The Osher Scholarship Endowment is the largest single donation of its kind ever bequeathed to the community college system in the nation.   Each of the 110 colleges were given a matching grant target per capita amount, based on their full time enrollment numbers.  
Mr. Osher did not designate that his name be attached to any of the donations, so each donor will have their scholarship awarded in their name annually.  In providing the funding for this program it was further stipulated the monies only be allocated to second year students,  to encourage them to either finish their two year degree program or to matriculate to a four year institution.  Taft College will award eight $1000 scholarship annually.  
The Taft College Foundation is please to recognize our Osher sponsors, which include The Diane S. Lake Charitable Trust; Occidental of Elk Hills;  Sempra Foundation;  Chevron; AP Architects; Bell Brettschneider and Clyde Shayler.