Noerr, Krier get new 4-year terms, Mangum defeats LeBarron

With one exception, local voters returned incumbents into city office even when they had opposition.

Incumbent Taft City Councilmen Dave Noerr and Orchel Krier wre both sent back into office for four-year terms.

Noerr, a two-term incumbent, was the leading vote getter with 1079 votes, 42.03 percent of the total. Krier, an appointed incumbent seeking election for the first time, received 984 votes, 38.33 percent.

Challenger Jesse Barron finished third with 491 voters, 19.13 percent.

Treasurer Bill LeBarron was defeated in his bid for reelection.

Challenger Ben Mangum claimed a solid victory with 921 votes, 60.24 percent of the votes cast, and LeBarron had 605 votes, 39.57 percent.

City Clerk Louise Hudgens ran unopposed.

City voters strongly rejected a proposal that would have changed the city clerk's job from elected to appointed, through.

More than two thirds – 1070 (69.71 percent) rejected Measure S and only 465 (30.29 percent supported it.

In the Taft Union High School District, incumbents Tom White and George Harmer both won re-election over Jeremy Gregory, who was seeking to return to the TUHS Board after losing his seat in the 2010 election. White received 2286 votes (42.26 percent), Harmer got 1660 votes (30.68 percent) and Gregory got 1450 votes (26.80 percent.)

In the West Kern Water District, incumbents Gary Morris (2113 votes, 27.42 percent) and David Wells (2110 votes, 27.37 percent) and one newcomer, former Taft City Councilman Roger Miller (1763, 22.87 percent) were elected.

Challenger Vernon Powers finished fourth with 1700 votes (22.06 percent.)

In Maricopa, voters soundly rejected a proposed sales tax increase to fund government services.

The proposal would have increased sales tax by 1 percent for 10 years.

The measure was “to preserve essential general governmental services including, but not limited to street and road improvements, police and fire protection, parks and recreation and other City General Fund services.”